If you have a question about a criminal arrest, it’s likely I have the answer right here.

You can scroll through the topics below or type your question just to the right and click “search”….and all the topics on this website that apply to your situation will be shown for you to review.

Alternatively, you can send me your question by e-mail using the contact form found to the right.

{ 0 comments }

What do I wear to court?

by Russell Thomas on April 26, 2013

I am commonly asked by Nashville DUI and criminal defense client’s what they should wear to court. I tell all client’s that it is better to be “over-dressed” than “under-dressed” and suggest they wear something along the lines of what would be considered business casual dress or nicer. For most court appearances, I advise men to wear a collared shirt, slacks (not jeans) and leather shoes. A coat and/or tie is good but not necessary for most court appearances. There are some court appearances where I do recommend coat and tie. I advise the equivalent of this dress for women – conservative skirt or pants, non-athletic shoes and conservative top. It is also important to note that most courts have dress codes. Here are links to the Davidson County General Sessions and Criminal Court Dress Code Policies.

{ 0 comments }

Where Can I Find Out How To Reinstate My Tennessee Drivers License That Has Been Revoked Or Suspended?

February 4, 2013

Reinstating a license can be an expensive and complicated process depending on the reason(s) for your suspension.  It often involves clearing hurdles with both local and state offices. The best place to start is on the Department of Safety’s website where you can enter your license information and receive a summary of what their records […]

Read the full article →

Where Can I Get An Ignition Interlock Device Installed In My Car?

January 23, 2013

If you are court ordered to install an ignition interlock device on your car, you must use a state certified provider.  For a link to a directory of all certified providers in the state, click here. If you or someone you know has recently received a DUI and has questions regarding possible implications, contact Attorney […]

Read the full article →

What Is An Alcohol And Drug Safety DUI School?

January 20, 2013

This is a 16 hour state-certified program required of all people convicted of a Tennessee DUI.  This is a separate requirement from a victim impact panel. There are various certified providers throughout the state, but if you were convicted of a Nashville DUI, you will likely be required to attend the one administered by the […]

Read the full article →

What Is A Victim Impact Panel?

January 14, 2013

The requirement to attend a victim impact panel is a common condition of a sentence in a Nashville DUI case.  These are usually produced by Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) and are offered periodically at various locations in Nashville and throughout Tennessee. The program consists of a panel presentation by crime victims telling personal stories […]

Read the full article →

What Are The Penalties For Driving On A Cancelled, Suspended or Revoked License?

December 22, 2012

A person convicted for driving while their license is canceled, suspended or revoked is guilty of a class B misdemeanor in Tennessee. This means they face a sentence of up to six months, a fine of up to $500, or both. Absent any aggravating factors, there is no mandatory minimum jail time meaning that a […]

Read the full article →

What Is The Punishment For Underage DWI In Tennessee?

December 10, 2012

If someone under the age of 21 is convicted for DWI in Tennessee, they face a fine, possible community service work, and a one-year license revocation. Someone charged with DWI in Tennessee may qualify for a pretrial diversion program, which might allow them to resolve their case without having a permanent conviction entered against them […]

Read the full article →

What Is The Difference Between DUI And DWI In Tennessee?

November 6, 2012

For many years, Tennessee recognized separate crimes of driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI). DWI was considered a less serious offense and carried less punishment than DUI. DWI was not punishable by jail time, carried no probationary period or any other punishment other than fine and license suspension. Several years ago […]

Read the full article →

If A Probation Violation Has Been Filed Against Me, Do I Still Need To Report To My Probation Officer?

October 23, 2012

Yes, since you still are on probation unless and until a Judge tells you otherwise.  And, if your probation officer has specifically asked you to continue reporting and do anything else, you need to do it.  If you fail to report now, your probation officer could file an amended warrant and add an additional failure […]

Read the full article →

Am I Guilty Of “Accessory After The Fact” If I Told Someone They Had An Outstanding Warrant?

October 9, 2012

To be convicted of accessory after the fact in Tennessee, the State must prove that you knew or had reasonable grounds to believe someone committed a felony and that you acted with the intent to hinder the arrest or prosecution of the defendant. If you hide, help or warn someone in some way with the […]

Read the full article →


I'm sure you have many questions. For a FREE CONSULTATION, please call me at 615-620-0891 and I will be more than glad to offer you my advice.

Russell Thomas is an Active Member of

american bar association nacdl member tacdl member hpaic member